Dark Lane Demo Tapes (2020) Lyrics – Drake

English 412 May 1, 2020

"Dark Lane Demo Tapes" is a mixtape by Canadian rapper and singer Drake, released on May 1, 2020, by OVO Sound and Republic Records. The mixtape features a compilation of songs that were either released on SoundCloud or leaked on the internet, as well as new songs. It was considered a "warm-up" to Drake's sixth studio album, "Certified Lover Boy" released in 2021. The mixtape was produced by Drake's long-time collaborator, 40, and a host of other producers. It also features guest appearances from Future, Young Thug, Chris Brown, Playboi Carti, Giveon, Fivio Foreign, and Sosa Geek.

With "Dark Lane Demo Tapes," Drake moved away from his conventional "hitmaking formula" to experiment with a diverse array of genres, including lo-fi, UK drill, trap, SoundCloud rap, R&B, and soul. The production on the mixtape is noted for its hazy, ambient sounds through prominent use of unpolished synths. The mixtape deals with various themes, including failed relationships, complicated relationships with friends, and Drake's prominence in the music industry.

The mixtape was supported by the single "Toosie Slide," which debuted at number one on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, making Drake the first male artist to achieve three number-one debuts on the chart. All 13 songs from the mixtape entered the chart, including "Pain 1993," which debuted at number seven, tying Drake with American singer Madonna for the most top 10 hits on the Billboard Hot 100 with 38.

Although "Dark Lane Demo Tapes" received mixed reviews from critics, it was praised for its experimentation and hazy production. Some critics, however, criticized its lyrical content as being weak. Despite the mixed reviews, the mixtape debuted at number two on the Billboard 200, selling 223,000 album-equivalent units. It also became Drake's third record to top the UK Albums Chart and reached the top spot in Australia, Canada, Estonia, the Netherlands, Ireland, Lithuania, and New Zealand. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Dark Lane Demo Tapes Album Tracklist

Last Update: August 28, 2023
Dark Lane Demo Tapes album Cover

Dark Lane Demo Tapes album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • May 1, 2020
  • Producer(s)
  • 40, AJ Costly, AXL Beats, Cardo, Dez Wright, D. Hill, Elyas, Foreign Teck, JB Made It & MexikoDro
  • Writer(s)
  • 40, AJ Costly, AXL Beats, Bobby Glenn, Cardo, Chris Brown, Douglas Gibbs, Drake, Elyas, Eminem & Future