Jessie Murph – Drowning Lyrics & Tracklist

English 226 February 10, 2023

"Drowning" is the debut mixtape by Jessie Murph, released in 2023, stands as a poignant testament to the human experience, particularly in navigating the depths of depression with an underlying hopefulness. With her alt-pop sensibilities, Murph crafts a compelling narrative of introspection and resilience, skillfully blending her cherubically throaty croon with diaristic lyrics that delve into the complexities of emotion.

Produced in collaboration with a talented array of artists such as Alex Hope, Chris Allgood, Gabe Simon, Mr. Franks, and WYNNE, the album is a rich tapestry of sound, incorporating shimmering piano, guitars, and trap-informed grooves. Standout singles like "Pray," "About You," and "If I Died Last Night" epitomize Murph's ability to deliver lowkey yet emotive anthems that resonate deeply with listeners.

Murph's lyrical prowess shines through in tracks like "Where Do You Go," a poignant exploration of seeking solace in the midst of emotional turmoil, and "How Could You," a hauntingly beautiful ode to heartbreak and vulnerability. Meanwhile, "What Happened to Ryan" offers a poignant glimpse into the struggles of mental health and addiction, conveyed through the lens of empathy and compassion.

The album's thematic breadth extends to "They Leave," drawing inspiration from Dolly Parton's "Jolene" to convey the inevitability of separation despite efforts to hold on, and "Drunk in the Bathtub," a chilling portrayal of the numbness of escapism juxtaposed with the longing for solitude.

In essence, "drowning" is a raw and introspective journey through the tangled web of human emotion, touching on themes of heartbreak, depression, and addiction with unflinching honesty. Murph's remarkable vocal range and genre-defying artistry captivate audiences, earning the album a well-deserved 10/10 rating. As she continues to evolve as an artist, one can only anticipate the compelling stories she will weave through her music in the future. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Drowning album Cover

Drowning album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • February 10, 2023
  • Producer(s)
  • Alex Hope, Chris Allgood, Gabe Simon, Ian Fitchuk, Jeff “Gitty” Gitelman, Jenna Andrews, Josh Kerr, Julian Cruz, Mr. Franks, Nami, NoiseClub, SethInTheKitchen, Stephen Kirk, Steve Rusch & WYNNE

  • Writer(s)
  • Alex Hope, Amy Wadge, Casey Smith, Dave Kuncio, Dolly Parton, Feli Ferraro, Gabe Simon, Geoff Warburton, Ian Fitchuk, Jeff “Gitty” Gitelman, Jenna Andrews, Jessie Murph, Josh Kerr, Julian Cruz, Mr. Franks, Nami, Sara Davis, Stephen Kirk, Steve Rusch & Yakob