Oliver Sim – Hideous Bastard Lyrics & Tracklist

English 479 September 9, 2022

"Hideous Bastard" is the debut studio album by Oliver Sim, renowned as the songwriter, bassist, and vocalist of the widely acclaimed band, The xx. Scheduled for release on September 9th under the Young label, this album is a remarkable culmination of two years' worth of dedicated writing and recording. Drawing inspiration from Sim's deep affection for horror movies and his own personal journey, the album delves into profound themes of shame, fear, and masculinity.

The lead single, "Hideous," serves as a powerful introduction to the forthcoming album, prominently showcasing the aforementioned themes. Sim has enlisted the support of his lifelong hero and self-proclaimed "guardian angel," Jimmy Somerville, to contribute his extraordinary vocals on the track. This collaboration not only amplifies the emotional impact of the single but also establishes a strong foundation for the entire album.

In a moment of extraordinary courage, Oliver Sim publicly reveals, for the first time, that he has been living with HIV since the tender age of seventeen. This revelation adds an additional layer of vulnerability and introspection to his music, providing a deeply personal and authentic glimpse into his life experiences. With this newfound transparency, Sim aims to break down societal stigmas surrounding HIV and further promote awareness and understanding.

Accompanying the single's release is a visually stunning music video directed by another personal hero of Sim's, the esteemed French filmmaker Yann Gonzalez. The video perfectly complements the haunting atmosphere of the song, while simultaneously foreshadowing a forthcoming queer horror short film, also titled "Hideous," which Sim and Gonzalez have collaborated on. The short film premiered recently at the Semaine de la Critique during the prestigious Cannes Film Festival, adding yet another creative dimension to Sim's artistic repertoire.

Overall, "Hideous Bastard" promises to be an extraordinary album that artfully tackles sensitive and significant topics. Oliver Sim fearlessly bares his soul through his music, inviting listeners on a transformative journey that challenges societal norms and celebrates personal resilience. With the support of notable collaborators and an unwavering dedication to his craft, Sim's debut album is poised to captivate audiences and leave an indelible mark on the music industry. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Hideous Bastard album Cover

Hideous Bastard album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • September 9, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Jamie xx
  • Writer(s)
  • Alex Peringer, Oliver Sim, Sam Dees, Jamie xx, Jimmy Somerville