I Am > I Was (2018) Lyrics – 21 Savage

English 162 December 24, 2018

"I Am > I Was" (I am greater than I was) is the second studio album by rapper 21 Savage, dropped on December 21, 2018, and instantly made waves in the music industry. With its unique title, pronounced as "I am greater than I was," the album showcased 21 Savage's growth and evolution as an artist.

Boasting an impressive lineup of collaborations, "I Am > I Was" featured notable vocal contributions from a range of talented artists. The album showcased the diverse talents of J. Cole, City Girls, Offset, Post Malone, Gunna, Lil Baby, Schoolboy Q, Project Pat, Childish Gambino, and even Savage's cousin, Young Nudy. The deluxe edition, released just three days later, treated fans to an additional song featuring the charismatic Travis Scott.

Two standout singles, "A Lot" and "Monster," served as pillars of support for the album. "A Lot" garnered significant attention for its introspective lyrics and powerful social commentary, while "Monster" showcased 21 Savage's signature trap sound and charismatic delivery. Both tracks resonated with audiences and showcased the album's depth and range.

Critics hailed "I Am > I Was" for its artistic excellence and innovation. The album received widespread acclaim, with reviewers praising 21 Savage's growth as a lyricist and his ability to craft compelling narratives. Commercially, the album fared exceptionally well, debuting at the top of the highly regarded US Billboard 200 chart. It amassed an impressive 131,000 album-equivalent units in its first week, out of which 18,000 were pure sales—a testament to its popularity.

The success of "I Am > I Was" did not go unnoticed, as it earned a nomination for Best Rap Album at the 2020 Grammy Awards. This recognition further solidified 21 Savage's position as a respected and influential figure in the hip-hop scene.

In summary, "I Am > I Was" marked a significant milestone in 21 Savage's career. With its compelling collaborations, standout singles, critical acclaim, and commercial success, the album showcased the rapper's artistic growth and cemented his status as a prominent force in the rap industry. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

I Am > I Was album Cover

I Am > I Was album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Featuring
  • Release Date
  • December 24, 2018
  • Producer(s)
  • 21 Savage, 30 Roc, Axl Folie, Ball Greezy, BEAM, Billy Walsh, B-Legit, Boi-1da, Brock Korsan, Cardo, Carlos Santana, Cashio, Childish Gambino, Danell Stevens, Dave Sava6e, Delmar Lawrence, DJ Dahi, DJ Paul, DJ Plugg, Doughboy Beatz, E-40, EZ Elpee, FKi 1st, Freek van Workum, Gunna, ItsNicklus, J. Cole, Jozzy, Juicy J, J. White Did It, Kevin Gomringer, Kid Hazel, Lil Baby, Louis Bell, Manuel Álvarez Beigbeder Pérez, Marvin Whitemon, Metro Boomin, Nija, Nils, Offset, Paul Cabbin, Post Malone, Project Pat, Purificación Casas Romero, Ralphy London, Roselilah, Santana, ScHoolboy Q, Sheila Young, Southside, Tenina Stevens, TIGGI, Tim Gomringer, TM88, Travis Scott, Vinylz, Watson, Wheezy & Young Nudy

  • Writer(s)
  • 30 Roc, Axl Folie, Boi-1da, BustDownBirdie, Cardo, CuBeatz, Dave Sava6e, DJ Dahi, DJ Plugg, Doughboy Beatz, Einer Bankz, FKi 1st, Freek van Workum, ItsNicklus, J. White Did It, Kid Hazel, Louis Bell, Mac808Mafia, Metro Boomin, Nija, Nils, Paul Cabbin, Roselilah, Southside, TIGGI, TM88 & Wheezy