I Blame The World (2022) Lyrics – Sasha Alex Sloan

English 589 May 13, 2022

"I Blame the World" is the second studio album by an American singer and songwriter, Sasha Alex Sloan, marking its release on May 13, 2022, under the RCA Records label. As part of the album's promotional activities, Sloan showcased her artistry with a captivating performance of the title track on Jimmy Kimmel Live! on April 26, 2022. Further elevating her presence, Sloan is set to accompany the renowned American band LANY on their Australia and New Zealand tour in May 2022.

Notably, she is also poised to embark on a solo tour across the United States, commencing on July 21, 2022, at First Avenue in Minneapolis and concluding the journey on September 10, 2022, in Nashville, Tennessee. The album, a raw and poignant musical offering, draws its inspiration from the tumultuous times of the pandemic. Sloan candidly confesses that the cynical and despondent undertones of her songs mirror the collective emotional turmoil experienced globally. Despite finding solace in her personal relationship during this period, Sloan grappled with an unexpected sense of melancholy. She delves into the dichotomy of being in a happy relationship yet battling the shadows of depression. The creation of "I Blame the World" emerged as a therapeutic outlet, a courageous exploration of her own struggles with mental health during a global crisis.

In describing the essence of her album, Sloan emphasizes its authenticity and non-hopeful tone. She rationalizes her existential lyrics by comparing them to entire albums centered around heartbreak, asserting her right to craft a narrative around the complexities of depression. During the creative process, Sloan faced moments of self-doubt, confessing that she did not enjoy music at that time and questioned the album's quality. Her creative wellspring, typically fueled by genuine experiences and encounters, faced a challenge during the isolating times of COVID-19.

The track "I Blame the World" takes inspiration from Sloan's engagement with Netflix's film "Don't Look Up" and Apple TV's "Severance." Both works delve into themes of brutal realism, loss of control, and the pervasive feeling of hopelessness, aligning with the emotional landscape she sought to capture in her music. In the end, "I Blame the World" stands as a testament to Sloan's courage to confront and express the complex emotions that defined an unprecedented chapter in our collective history. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

I Blame The World Album Tracklist

Last Update: August 28, 2023
I Blame The World album Cover

I Blame The World album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • May 13, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Chad Copelin, King Henry, Mike Elizondo, Stuart Price
  • Writer(s)
  • King Henry, Sasha Alex Sloan