I Look To You (2009) Lyrics – Whitney Houston

English 116 August 28, 2009

"I Look to You" is the final studio album by the legendary American singer, Whitney Houston. The album was initially released on August 28, 2009, by Sony Music in Europe, followed by Arista Records on August 31, 2009, in the United States, and eventually by RCA Records in the United Kingdom on October 19, 2009.

It marked Houston's first non-holiday studio album since "Just Whitney" in 2002. The album received favorable reviews from music critics and debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200 chart, selling 305,000 copies in its first week. This beat her previous first-week sales record of 205,137 units with "Just Whitney" in 2002, and it became her first album to top the US chart since "The Bodyguard" in 1992. With this achievement, Houston extended her record as the female artist with the most cumulative weeks at the number one position.

The album features two official singles: the title track, which became a top 20 hit on the US R&B chart, and the international single "Million Dollar Bill", which hit the top ten in several countries worldwide and also reached the US top 20 on the R&B chart. Since its release, "I Look to You" has sold over 2.5 million copies globally, earning platinum certification in seven countries and gold certification in eight. A promotional single, "Nothin' But Love", was released only to UK radio stations to promote the accompanying "Nothing but Love World Tour." It's worth noting that Houston passed away on February 11, 2012, making "I Look to You" her last studio album release while she was alive. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

I Look To You album Cover

I Look To You album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Featuring
  • Release Date
  • August 28, 2009
  • Producer(s)
  • Akon, Alicia Keys, Claude Kelly, Danja, David Foster, Emanuel Kiriakou, Eric Hudson, Fernando Garibay, Giorgio Tuinfort, Harvey Mason Jr., R. Kelly, StarGate, Swizz Beatz & Tricky Stewart

  • Writer(s)
  • Akon, Alicia Keys, Claude Kelly, Danja, Diane Warren, Eric Hudson, Fernando Garibay, Franne Golde, Giorgio Tuinfort, Johntá Austin, Kasia Livingston, Leon Russell, Marcella Araica, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Norman Harris, R. Kelly, Swizz Beatz, Tor Erik Hermansen & Whitney Houston