Inside (2022) Lyrics – Mother Mother

English 693 January 28, 2022

"Inside" is the eighth full-length studio album by the Vancouver-based indie rock band, Mother Mother, and it was officially released on June 25, 2021. The album was thoughtfully produced by the band's very own Ryan Guldemond alongside Howard Redekopp. "Inside" stands out as a concept album, delving deep into themes of isolation and self-love during the challenging times of the COVID-19 pandemic. With its introspective lyrics and eclectic sound, the album managed to strike a chord with listeners seeking connection and understanding during the unprecedented global lockdown.

Surprising their fans, on December 1, 2021, Mother Mother announced the arrival of a deluxe edition of "Inside." This special release offered fans an exciting addition to the album in the form of a sequel to their beloved song "Hayloft," aptly titled "Hayloft II." The deluxe edition, featuring this intriguing new track, hit the shelves on January 28, 2022, further cementing Mother Mother's reputation as a band committed to delivering fresh and innovative musical experiences.

Interestingly, the band had initially planned for 2020 to be a year of hiatus, a much-needed break from their musical endeavors. However, the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdowns compelled the band to shift gears creatively. Instead of idling through the uncertain times, they embraced the opportunity to channel their emotions and experiences into crafting an album that would capture the essence of the momentous global event. Ryan Guldemond shared in an interview that "Inside" is an album that could only have been created during such a unique time in the world, making it a poignant and vital addition to their discography. The album became a focused response to the world's circumstances, showcasing Mother Mother's artistic prowess in chronically capturing the essence of the pandemic's impact through their music.

During the writing and recording process, the band members faced challenges posed by the COVID-19 restrictions in Canada. Unable to gather in the studio together, ideas for the album were exchanged over phone calls and emails. They resorted to recording individually, with each member isolated in the studio. This approach, while challenging, allowed them to adapt to the circumstances and remain productive, even in the face of adversity.

Ryan Guldemond, the creative force behind the album, drew inspiration from his own experiences of isolation during the pandemic. His aim was to shape the album's lyrics around the idea of looking inward to gain a deeper understanding of oneself, striving to become a better person. The album's title, "Inside," ingeniously encompasses a dual meaning, referring both to Canada's stay-at-home orders during the pandemic and the introspective journey that the band embarked on while creating the music. Guldemond envisioned a unique amalgamation of industrial and dystopian sounds fused with their signature alternative and indie rock style, giving the album a distinctive and captivating sonic identity.

During the album's inception, Guldemond captured voice notes during his solitary walks, documenting not only his personal musings but also incorporating ambient sounds from Vancouver's 7:00 p.m. healthcare salute. These snippets of real-life audio found their way into the album's first, second, and final songs, adding an authentic and poignant touch to the overall listening experience.

In their artistic journey, Mother Mother perceives "Inside" as an organic continuation of their 2018 album, "Dance and Cry." This evolution in their discography showcases their growth as artists, exploring new themes and emotions while staying true to their musical roots. With "Inside," Mother Mother solidifies their position as an influential and introspective band, capable of capturing the essence of the human experience and translating it into captivating musical narratives. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Inside album Cover

Inside album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • January 28, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Andy McNutt, Howard Redekopp, JVP, Keisja Cox, Molly Guldemond, Mother Mother, Ryan Guldemond & Susie McGregor
  • Writer(s)
  • Brooke Peters, Gwendolyn Edith Lewis, Jasmin Parkin, Molly Guldemond, Mother Mother & Ryan Guldemond