Beach House – Once Twice Melody Lyrics & Tracklist

English 383 February 18, 2022

"Once Twice Melody," the eighth studio album by the American dream pop duo Beach House, emerged on February 18, 2022, as a magnum opus of ethereal soundscapes and emotive lyricism. Presented as a double album with 18 tracks divided into four chapters, its release was staggered, with the initial three chapters unveiled on November 10, 2021, December 8, 2021, and January 19, 2022, respectively. Notably, "Hurts to Love" was offered as a standalone single on February 14, 2022, synchronizing with Valentine's Day festivities before the full album dropped under the collaboration of Sub Pop & Bella Union.

Critically, "Once Twice Melody" received universal acclaim, garnering an average score of 84 on Metacritic and a rating of 7.8 out of 10 on AnyDecentMusic? from 22 reviews, signaling widespread praise. Heather Phares, writing for AllMusic, extolled the album's lushness, remarking on Beach House's adept utilization of space to convey the poignancy of melancholy. Mojo's Stevie Chick hailed it as the duo's "grandest vision yet," lauding Victoria Legrand's vocals for their impassive beauty, drawing comparisons to the haunting serenades of Laurie Anderson. Jason Anderson of Uncut marveled at the cinematic quality of the first chapter, admiring the album's ability to balance grandeur with unexpected elements, preventing the opulence from veering into saccharine territory. For Uncut, the album's greatness lay not solely in its expansive scope but in Beach House's mastery of crafting intimate music irrespective of scale.

"Once Twice Melody" stands as a testament to Beach House's evolution, showcasing their ability to create immersive sonic landscapes while maintaining an intimate connection with the listener. With its lush arrangements, evocative lyrics, and ethereal vocals, the album cements Beach House's position as pioneers of the dream pop genre while pushing the boundaries of their sonic palette. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Once Twice Melody album Cover

Once Twice Melody album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • February 18, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Alex Scally & Victoria Legrand
  • Writer(s)
  • Alex Scally, James Barone & Victoria Legrand