Portals (2023) Lyrics – Melanie Martinez

English 189 March 31, 2023

"Portals" is the third studio album by American singer-songwriter, Melanie Martinez. It is expected to be released on March 31, 2023, through Atlantic Records. The album's announcement was made in March 2022 when Martinez uploaded a cryptic post on Instagram that featured a photo of a pink alien character emerging from a human form. The post also included the album's title, release date, a set of lyrics, and the name of the lead single, "Death," which was released on March 17, 2023.

In the lead-up to the album's release, Martinez has been teasing fans with snippets of what they can expect. She released a teaser video that showed a mushroom in a misty, dream-like forest with the phrase "RIP Crybaby" engraved in its stem. The teasers posted on her social media platforms represent the themes of rebirth, growing embryos, and eggs incubating in forests.

On February 22, 2023, she dropped a one-minute-long teaser video of herself hatching from an egg as a pink, deep-sea styled creature. This teaser confirmed the album's name and release date, and fans got their first glimpse of Martinez's new persona. Her official website was also updated, showcasing the album cover, and fans could now pre-order merchandise related to the album.

"Portals" is expected to showcase a new side of Melanie Martinez and her evolution as an artist. The album's teasers hint at a departure from her previous persona, "Crybaby," and a move towards a more mature and experimental sound. Fans eagerly await the album's release to see what Martinez has in store for them. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Portals album Cover

Portals album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • March 31, 2023
  • Producer(s)
  • CJ Baran, Melanie Martinez, One Love & Verdewhatever
  • Writer(s)
  • CJ Baran, Kinetics, Melanie Martinez & One Love