Kacey Musgraves – Star-crossed Lyrics & Tracklist

English 591 September 10, 2021

"Star-Crossed", marks the fifth studio album by Kacey Musgraves, its released on September 10, 2021, under the labels MCA Nashville and Interscope Records. Collaborating once again with Ian Fitchuk and Daniel Tashian, with whom she crafted the acclaimed "Golden Hour" in 2018, Musgraves delves into themes of heartache and healing stemming from her divorce with Ruston Kelly, painting a modern tragedy reminiscent of Shakespeare's iconic lovers.

Influenced by a diverse array of musical inspirations including Bill Withers, Daft Punk, Sade, Eagles, and Weezer, "Star-Crossed" ventures into pop territory while maintaining a poignant country essence. The album's sonic landscape merges folk, dance, rock, and psychedelic elements, characterized by mellow ballads propelled by analog synthesizers, looped drums, and layered harmonies.

The album's rollout commenced with the release of the title track "Star-Crossed" on August 23, 2021, followed swiftly by the lead single "Justified." Subsequently, "Camera Roll" debuted as the album's second single on January 24, 2022, gracing adult alternative radio waves.

Accompanying the album release, Musgraves unveiled a companion film directed by Bardia Zeinali, immersing audiences in a visual journey complemented by the album's musical narrative, available exclusively on Paramount+.

Critically acclaimed, "Star-Crossed" earned praise for its genre-blending production and Musgraves' intimate storytelling, positioning it as the poignant counterpart to the celebratory tone of "Golden Hour." While some critiques compared it unfavorably to its predecessor, many recognized its artistic merit, leading to its inclusion on numerous year-end best albums lists for 2021.

Commercially, "Star-Crossed" made waves globally, securing top 10 positions in Australia, Canada, Scotland, the United Kingdom, and the United States, while reigning atop the country genre charts in multiple countries. Notably, "Camera Roll" garnered Grammy nominations for Best Country Solo Performance and Best Country Song at the 64th Annual Grammy Awards, solidifying its impact on both critical and commercial fronts. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Star-crossed album Cover

Star-crossed album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • September 10, 2021
  • Producer(s)
  • Kacey Musgraves, Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian
  • Writer(s)
  • Kacey Musgraves, Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian