- (Subtract) (2023) Lyrics – Ed Sheeran

English 476 May 5, 2023

"- (Subtract)" is the fifth studio album by an English singer-songwriter, Ed Sheeran. it was releases on May 5, 2023. This album is the final entry in a series of albums that he has titled using mathematical symbols. Sheeran has announced that this album will be a full-acoustic album, which is a departure from his previous works.

The album is produced by Aaron Dessner, who Sheeran was introduced to by fellow musician Taylor Swift. Dessner helped produce Sheeran and Swift's collaborative song "Run (Taylor's Version)." Sheeran announced the album's title, tracklist, and release date on March 1, 2023, through his social media platforms. He also revealed that he would be embarking on a mini-European tour from March 23 to April 2, which would coincide with the release of the album's lead single.

The album's production and songwriting were a collaboration between Sheeran and Dessner. The duo spent a month together in the studio, during which they wrote over thirty songs. The album's fourteen tracks were selected from this pool of songs. Dessner is best known as a member of the indie rock band The National and has also produced Taylor Swift's albums Folklore and Evermore.

With "- (Subtract)," Sheeran will complete his mathematical-themed album series. This series began with his debut album "+ (Plus)" in 2011 and was followed by "x (Multiply)" in 2014, "÷ (Divide)" in 2017, and "No.6 Collaborations Project" in 2019. The series has been a significant commercial success, with all four previous albums topping the charts in multiple countries.

On April 29, 2023, Sheeran announced a series of intimate shows in North America as part of a mini-tour to promote the album. Fans can expect to hear Sheeran's signature acoustic sound and heartfelt lyrics on this highly anticipated album. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

- (Subtract) album Cover

- (Subtract) album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • May 5, 2023
  • Producer(s)
  • Aaron Dessner, Fred again.., Max Martin & Shellback
  • Writer(s)
  • Aaron Dessner, Ed Sheeran, Foy Vance, Fred again.., Max Martin & Shellback