The Album (2020) Lyrics – Blackpink

Korean 446 October 2, 2020

The Album is the debut studio album by South Korean girl group Blackpink and released on October 2, 2020. The album marks the group's first full-length release since their debut in 2016, and features over ten new songs produced by a variety of producers, including Teddy, Tommy Brown, R. Tee, Steven Franks, and 24. The album's lyrical content explores themes of love and the complexities of growing up. Musically, The Album incorporates pop, R&B, hip-hop, EDM, and trap elements.

To promote the album, Blackpink released three singles, two of which were pre-released and became top-forty hits on the US Billboard Hot 100. Lead single "How You Like That" debuted at number thirty-three, while "Ice Cream" peaked at number thirteen, becoming Blackpink's highest-charting song in the United States. "Lovesick Girls" reached number fifty-nine on the chart. All three singles were also top-ten hits in South Korea, with "How You Like That" reaching number one for three weeks, "Ice Cream" peaking at number eight, and "Lovesick Girls" at number two on the Gaon Digital Chart.

The Album received generally favorable reviews from music critics, who praised Blackpink's vocal ability and stylistic variety, but some criticized the album's short length and outdated production. In addition to the album's release, Blackpink made appearances on several music programs in South Korea and talk shows in the United States. They also headlined a virtual pay-per-view concert, titled "The Show," on January 31, 2021.

Upon its release, The Album debuted at number one on the Gaon Album Chart and sold 1,092,550 copies in its first month, becoming the best-selling album by a female act in South Korea at the time and the first in the chart's history to surpass one million sales. The Album also debuted at number two on the US Billboard 200, selling 110,000 units, making it the highest-charting female Korean album and the highest-charting album by an all-female group since Danity Kane's Welcome to the Dollhouse (2008). The album reached number one in South Korea, New Zealand, and Mexico, and entered the top ten in 16 countries. The Album has since been certified platinum by the Korea Music Content Association (KMCA) and silver by the British Phonographic Industry (BPI). According to the International Federation of the Phonographic Industry, the album was the fifth best-selling album worldwide in pure sales in 2020. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

The Album album Cover

The Album album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Featuring
  • Release Date
  • October 2, 2020
  • Producer(s)
  • Future Bounce, Mr. Franks, Rob Grimaldi, R.Tee, 24, TBHits, Teddy Park, Tushar Apte, Vince
  • Writer(s)
  • Ariana Grande, Cardi B, Bekuh BOOM, 24, Chloe George, Danny Chung, JENNIE, JISOO, Jonathan Descartes, LØREN, Melanie Joy Fontana, Mr. Franks, Rob Grimaldi, Ryan Tedder, Selena Gomez, Steph Jones, TBHits, Teddy Park, Torae, Tushar Apte, Victoria Monét, Vince