Mitski – The Land Is Inhospitable And So Are We Lyrics & Tracklist

English 235 September 15, 2023

"The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We" marks the impressive seventh studio album in the illustrious career of American singer-songwriter Mitski, and it's slated for release on September 15, 2023, through the Dead Oceans label. The album was meticulously crafted under the skilled production of Patrick Hyland, with the hauntingly beautiful single "Bug Like an Angel" paving the way, dropping on July 26, 2023, along with an evocative music video directed by Noel Paul.

Mitski herself has described this project as her "most American album," a bold statement that suggests a deep exploration of her roots and identity. She has also emphasized the central theme of love in the album's lyrics, promising a poignant and introspective journey for listeners.

Musically, "The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We" draws inspiration from a diverse array of sources, including spaghetti Western soundtracks, the avant-garde compositions of Igor Stravinsky, the experimentalism of Scott Walker, the soulful melodies of Caetano Veloso, and the timeless country crooning of Faron Young. This eclectic blend of influences hints at a rich and textured sonic landscape.

The album's recording process took Mitski and producer Patrick Hyland to two distinctive locations: Bomb Shelter in Nashville and Sunset Sound in Los Angeles. Here, they were joined by a 17-person choir arranged by Mitski herself, adding an ethereal and grandiose dimension to the music. Furthermore, an orchestra, under the skilled direction of Drew Erickson, graces several tracks with its symphonic presence.

In terms of promotion, Mitski unveiled the album title and the release date of "Bug Like an Angel" through her newsletter on July 23, 2023, generating significant anticipation. The subsequent release of "Heaven" as the second single on August 23, 2023, on BBC Radio 1's "Future Sounds" with an accompanying interview, and the third single, "Star," reinforced the album's growing presence on the music scene.

To share her new work with fans in an intimate setting, Mitski announced a series of six concert dates, spanning the United Kingdom, Germany, the Netherlands, and France, all scheduled for October 2023. These concerts, described by Mitski as not a full-blown tour, promise an up-close and personal experience, allowing audiences to preview the album without elaborate stage production. As the release date approaches, "The Land Is Inhospitable and So Are We" stands as a testament to Mitski's evolution as an artist and her commitment to pushing the boundaries of her craft. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

The Land Is Inhospitable And So Are We album Cover

The Land Is Inhospitable And So Are We album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • September 15, 2023
  • Producer(s)
  • Patrick Hyland
  • Writer(s)
  • Mitski