The Loneliest Time (2022) Lyrics – Carly Rae Jepsen

English 172 October 21, 2022

"The Loneliest Time," is the highly anticipated sixth studio album by the talented Canadian singer-songwriter, Carly Rae Jepsen, it was released on October 21, 2022. The album, a product of the unique circumstances brought on by the global pandemic, resonated with fans and critics alike, showcasing Jepsen's evolution as an artist and her ability to create captivating music even during challenging times.

During the lockdown in May 2020, Jepsen revealed that she had been working on what she affectionately called her "quarantine album." Collaborating remotely with her longtime creative partner, Tavish Crowe, she poured her emotions and experiences into the songs. The process of writing and recording over Zoom presented its challenges, but it also allowed Jepsen to delve deeper into her thoughts and feelings, resulting in a collection of heartfelt and relatable tracks.

The lead single, "Western Wind," was released on May 6, 2022, offering a glimpse of the album's introspective and melodic nature. Fans eagerly anticipated the release and responded with overwhelming support, setting the stage for what would become an unforgettable musical journey. Following the success of "Western Wind," the album became available for pre-order on August 2, generating significant buzz and anticipation in the music community.

As the release date drew near, Jepsen continued to unveil more of the album's treasures with the subsequent singles. "Beach House," released on August 5, showcased her signature style, blending catchy pop hooks with heartfelt lyrics. The track immediately resonated with listeners, becoming a summer anthem for many.

On September 16, "Talking to Yourself" hit the airwaves, offering an intimate and vulnerable look into Jepsen's emotions. The song's rawness and authenticity struck a chord with fans, further heightening the anticipation for the album's release.

Finally, on October 7, Jepsen released the title track, "The Loneliest Time," featuring the legendary Rufus Wainwright. The collaboration added a unique dimension to the album, and the hauntingly beautiful song received widespread acclaim, further solidifying Jepsen's status as a versatile and accomplished artist.

With the album officially out, Jepsen embarked on The So Nice Tour, which kicked off in September 2022. The tour allowed fans to experience the album's magic live, with Jepsen captivating audiences with her powerful performances and infectious energy. The tour's success prompted Jepsen to extend the journey to the United Kingdom (Europe) and Australia, allowing even more fans to revel in the music's beauty.

"The Loneliest Time" made a significant impact on the charts, debuting at number 18 on the Canadian Albums Chart and number 19 on the prestigious Billboard 200 in the United States, marking Jepsen's fourth top twenty album. Additionally, the album debuted at an impressive number 16 on the UK Albums Chart, marking her highest-charting album in the UK in a decade.

Critics praised "The Loneliest Time" for its emotional depth, musical craftsmanship, and Jepsen's captivating vocals. The album's introspective themes resonated with listeners worldwide, earning it a spot on several "Best of the Year" lists.

Carly Rae Jepsen's "The Loneliest Time" not only provided a soundtrack for challenging times but also served as a testament to the resilience of creativity and the power of music to connect people across distances and circumstances. Through her "quarantine album," Jepsen proved that even in the loneliest times, music can serve as a comforting and unifying force, bringing people together through shared emotions and experiences. As the album's success continued to grow, fans eagerly awaited what new artistic endeavors Jepsen would undertake in the future, confident that her talent and passion would keep shining brightly. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

The Loneliest Time album Cover

The Loneliest Time album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Featuring
  • Release Date
  • October 21, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Alex Hope, alexmaax, Bullion, Captain Cuts, Imad Royal, John Hill, Jordan Palmer, Kyle Shearer, Luke Niccoli, Oliver Lundström, Patrik Berger, Rostam & Solomonophonic

  • Writer(s)
  • Alex Hope, alexmaax, Ben Berger, Bullion, Carly Rae Jepsen, Imad Royal, Jay Stolar, John Hill, Jordan Palmer, Kyle Shearer, Luke Niccoli, Nate Cyphert, Noonie Bao, Oliver Lundström, Patrik Berger, Rostam, Ryan Rabin, Simon Wilcox, slimdan, Solomonophonic & Tavish Crowe