Taylor Swift – The Tortured Poets Department Lyrics & Tracklist

English 6.3K April 19, 2024

"The Tortured Poets Department," Taylor Swift's eleventh studio album, debuted on April 19, 2024, under Republic Records. Collaborating with Jack Antonoff and Aaron Dessner, Swift crafted a collection that she described as her "lifeline" album, marking a profound exploration of songwriting following her acclaimed "Midnights" release in 2022. Swift unveiled the album during the 66th Annual Grammy Awards in February 2024, following her win for Best Pop Vocal Album with "Midnights." The genesis of "The Tortured Poets Department" began shortly after wrapping up work on its predecessor, with Swift refining her vision throughout her Eras Tour from 2023 to 2024.

Comprising sixteen tracks, the album features notable collaborations with Post Malone and Florence and the Machine. Malone joins Swift on the lead single "Fortnight," while Florence Welch of Florence and the Machine lends her vocals to "Florida!!!" The release also includes a surprise double album edition titled "The Anthology," featuring fifteen additional tracks, with four shared across physical editions.

Billboard speculated that the album mirrors the five stages of grief, a concept attributed to psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross. Critics have categorized "The Tortured Poets Department" as primarily pop rock and synth-pop, with Ann Powers of NPR noting its blend of rap-like verses, expansive choruses, piano interludes, and lush synth arrangements. Will Hodgkinson of The Times further described it as a fusion of synth-pop, 1980s power ballads, and the emotive essence of Stevie Nicks.

In essence, "The Tortured Poets Department" stands as a testament to Swift's evolution as an artist, weaving together diverse musical influences with introspective lyricism to create a deeply resonant work that explores themes of emotional vulnerability and resilience. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

The Tortured Poets Department album Cover

The Tortured Poets Department album cover

Cast & Crew