Weeekly – Play Game: Awake Lyrics & Tracklist

Korean 693 March 7, 2022

"Awake" marks the notable debut single album by the immensely talented South Korean girl group, Weeekly. Released on March 7, 2022, under IST Entertainment, this musical gem comprises a total of three tracks, with the lead single titled "Ven Para." However, it holds significance beyond its musical prowess as it serves as the farewell project for former member Shin Ji-yoon, who bid her farewell to the group on June 1, 2022.

The path leading to the album's release was not without hurdles. On February 28, 2022, a temporary hiatus was announced for Shin Ji-yoon, citing tensions and anxiety. Consequently, she regrettably did not partake in promotional activities for the album. Notwithstanding the challenges faced, Weeekly remained resilient and released "Play Game: Awake" on March 7, captivating their devoted fanbase with the dynamic lead single, "Ven Para."

Rhian Daly, a respected critic from NME, appraised the album, bestowing upon it a three-star rating out of five. Daly characterized the lead single, "Ven Para," as a composition that exudes a certain rawness and intensity, occasionally bordering on dissonance. Despite this, Daly commended one of the verses, considering it a pleasant respite from the overarching discordance. Moving along the tracklist, "Solar" emerged as a force to be reckoned with, presenting a more cohesive and robust sonic experience. Although Daly noted that "Solar" struggled to leave an indelible mark, its powerful delivery was undeniable. Finally, the spotlight shifted to "Where Is My Love?" Daly found this particular track to be lacking that elusive spark that sets extraordinary songs apart. Nevertheless, it was praised for its soulful nature and its embodiment of the gentle nuances of soft pop.

Overall, "Play Game: Awake" showcases the dexterity and potential of Weeekly as they navigate the ever-evolving musical landscape. While the lead single may have evoked mixed emotions due to its unconventional nature, the album as a whole demonstrates the group's ability to harmonize and create compelling melodies. As they bid farewell to Shin Ji-yoon, Weeekly's journey continues, promising fans a promising future filled with captivating music and memorable performances. Below you can find a to z all track details, with lyrics and videos.

Play Game: Awake album Cover

Play Game: Awake album cover

Cast & Crew

  • Artist/Band
  • Release Date
  • March 7, 2022
  • Producer(s)
  • Awry, Ayushy, BlueRhythm, Charlotte Wilson, Frankie Day, Jan Baars, Kwon Ae Jin, Lee Ju Hyung, Tommy Park

  • Writer(s)
  • Jo Yoon Kyung, Kwon Ae Jin, Lee Ju Hyung, Lee Seu Ran