Dance Gavin Dance Lyrics - Discography

174 American Rock Band

"Dance Gavin Dance" is an American rock band hailing from Sacramento, California, that was formed in 2005. The group's lineup has undergone numerous changes since its inception, with only lead guitarist Will Swan and drummer Matthew Mingus being the constants on every studio album. The band currently comprises harsh vocalist Jon Mess, cleans vocalist Tilian Pearson, lead guitarist Will Swan, rhythm guitarist Andrew Wells, and drummer Matthew Mingus.

The band's journey began with the release of their debut extended play (EP), Whatever I Say Is Royal Ocean, in 2006, following which they signed with Rise Records. In May 2007, they released their debut studio album, Downtown Battle Mountain, which was followed by the departure of lead vocalist Jonny Craig and guitarist Sean O'Sullivan. The band brought in Kurt Travis and Zachary Garren to replace them and released their self-titled album, Dance Gavin Dance, in August 2008. Vocalist Jon Mess and bassist Eric Lodge then left the group before the release of the album, with Lodge being replaced by Jason Ellis.

In June 2009, the band released their third studio album, Happiness. The next few years saw numerous lineup changes, with Craig, Mess, and Lodge returning to the band to record their fourth studio album, Downtown Battle Mountain II (2011), followed by their departure from the group the following year. The band then welcomed former Tides of Man vocalist Tilian Pearson, bassist Tim Feerick, and guitarist Josh Benton into the fold, and released their fifth studio album, Acceptance Speech, in 2013. Benton left the band shortly after the album's release.

Dance Gavin Dance's sixth studio album, Instant Gratification, was released in April 2015. The following year, they released their first live album, Tree City Sessions, and their seventh studio album, Mothership, which peaked at number 13 on the Billboard 200. In June 2018, the band released their eighth studio album, Artificial Selection, which charted at number 15 on the Billboard 200. In April 2020, they released their ninth studio album, Afterburner, which debuted at number 14 on the Billboard 200. The band also released Tree City Sessions 2 in December of that year.

Sadly, in 2022, bassist Tim Feerick passed away prior to the release of the band's tenth album, Jackpot Juicer. This led to Sianvar and Royal Coda guitarist Sergio Medina stepping in to take over on live bass duties. Despite the changes in their lineup, Dance Gavin Dance has achieved considerable success, with four top-twenty albums in the US, including one top 10, and have become one of the most popular music groups in the post-hardcore genre. Browse A to Z all Dance Gavin Dance Lyrics, songs, and albums below.